College of Design Faculty Senate

College Faculty Senate

The College Senate is the faculty governance body of the College of Design and as such is an action-oriented body for bringing faculty concerns to the Dean and vice-versa. Its membership comprises one representative from each academic unit in the college plus one ex-officio at-large member who is the college’s representative on the University Senate. All are voting members of the college faculty.

The officers of the College Senate comprise a Chairperson and a Secretary, who each serve one-year terms and are in their second or third year on the Senate. These officers are designated by members of the College Senate following the fall elections. The Chair presides at all College of Design faculty meetings.

Members are elected by their respective academic unit for three-year terms, which are staggered and run from January to January. Elections take place each November and senators can serve consecutive terms.

A Brief History

The School of Design was founded in 1948 with Henry Kamphoefner as the founding dean. During the Kamphoefner years there were no formal faculty governance structures. It was not until the tenure of the second dean of the college, Claude McKinney, that faculty became organized. However, it was only in 1994 that the College Senate was formally established, with Susan Brandais serving as the first chair. The Constitution and By-Laws were formally established in 2000 and updated in 2018.

The following are chairs of the College Senate since its founding. Years left blank are those when the Senate was inactive.

Committee Diagram

网易彩票 天水市 永康市 成都市 商洛市 大庆市 镇江市 临夏市 阜新市 巴中市 萍乡市 崇州市 邓州市 平度市 河津市 台中市 衡水市 明光市 凤城市 吉林省 石首市 龙海市 黄石市 叶城市 都匀市 武穴市 朝阳市 青岛市 凤城市 葫芦岛市 仙桃市 合肥市 孝感市 邢台市 兴城市 平度市 利川市 洮南市 信阳市 常州市 宁国市 南阳市 徐州市 北宁市 邢台市 鹿泉市 池州市 北宁市 台中市 华阴市 延吉市 铁力市 兴城市 淮安市 汉川市 东阳市 焦作市 西安市 佛山市 潍坊市 甘肃省